Historical

Spanning 1800 years of Russia's history, people, poltics, and culture, Edward Rurtherford, author of the phenomenally successful SARUM: THE NOVEL OF ENGLAND, tells a grand saga that is as multifaceted as Russia itself.

Here is a story of a great civilization made human, played out through ...

South Africa, 1900. The search for his missing son takes Joseph Radcliffe from the streets of Dublin, smouldering with rebellion, to the track veld of South Africa and the bloody brutality of the Anglo-Boer War. As a former cavalryman in the US army, Radcliffe is no stranger to war, but 800 miles...

For those whose roots grow deep in cotton soil, a legacy calls you back. The dirt whispers a name, echoing from a time when all that existed in the world happened right outside your door. Many a boy and girl have moved on from the small farm towns that nurtured them.

Others, like old Mis H...

Označit tyto texty za povídky lidových vypravěčů nemůže samo o sobě dát přiměřenou představu. Ti vypravěči zřejmě vystupovali v kultivovaných domech častěji, než se obvykle předpokládá, a mimoto jejich obzor a tradiční vzdělání svědčí o literátském pozadí. Na druhé straně lidový ráz povídek je zn...

Jennifer Ward finds the holidays painful, and she argues with a client, Russell, when he tells her to do his store window over because he does not like her attempt at humor. Jennifer grows angry and frustrated and tells the shocked man that she would rather be run over by a Mac truck. She storms ...

ლეო ქიაჩელის ნაწარმოები არა მხოლოდ ჟანრული, არამედ თემატიკისა და სტილის მრავალფეროვნებითაც გამოირჩევა.

ამ კრებულში შეტანილია მწერლის რჩეული მოთხრობები: "თავადის ქალი მაია", "ალმასგირ კიბულან", "ბერი და ყორანი", "ჰაკი აძბა" და სხვები. აქ შეხვდებით როგორც სიმბოლისტური მიმდინარეობისთვის დამახ...

Book 1 of the 1776 series set during the American Revolutionary War Massachusetts, 1776 Young Abigail suffers greatly the way she is being raised by her mother, for whom a woman’s only place is in the kitchen. At the same time, her father’s dedicated fight for freedom also ignites in her a passio...

It's 1986 and Ronald Reagan's commitment to the anti-Soviet mujahideen of Afghanistan is resolute. Meanwhile, 17 year-old Pakistani student, Sikander, yearns for the freedom of his tribal brethren in neighboring Afghanistan, and that leads him to admire everything American but more directly, to w...

À l’âge de cinq ans, Vercingétorix vit son père condamné au bucher par les siens pour avoir osé se prétendre roi des peuples gaulois. Nourri de la même ambition, le jeune Arverne apprend la discipline militaire en réalisant ses classes auprès de la puissante armée romaine. De retour en Gaule, il ...

Based on the life of Lakshmi Bai, Rani of Jhansi.

...

The first in an enthralling trilogy of medieval murder mysteries set in a time of violent civil war, and introducing an appealing new hero, Edwin Weaver The year is 1217, and England has been invaded. Much of the country is in the iron grip of Louis of France and his collaborators, and civil war ...

A breathtaking novel of romantic obsession, longing and one woman's choice between motherhood and her operatic calling It is 1903. Dr. Ravell is a young Harvard-educated obstetrician with a growing reputation for helping couples conceive. He has

...

An excellent guide for mountain-man enthusiasts and an intriguing exploration of the West, Rocky Mountain Rendezvous focuses on the fur-trading rendezvous that took place from 1825-1840 in the Central Rocky Mountains. Originally commercial gatherings where furs were traded for necessities such as...

After being taken prisoner by an enemy tribe, a Shoshoni girl escapes and makes a thousand-mile journey through the wilderness in search of her own people.

...

A turbulent story of life and death amid the years of the Victorian gold rush. Adam, recently widowed and suffering from melancholia, sets out on an overland journey from Sydney in 1847 with his two young sons. Still grieving on his arrival in Melbourne, he leaves the boys in the care of friends ...

Alexander the Great summoned Leon of Atrax to him and made known his will. A man was sought - yet not an ordinary man - to execute a vital mission for the Conqueror. It was a mission which would hurl a man across the perilous length of the world - a mission which would plunge him deep into love, ...

From the bestselling author of The House at Riverton and The Secret Keeper, Kate Morton brings us her dazzling sixth novel, The Clockmaker's Daughter. My real name, no one remembers.

The truth about that summer, no one else knows. In the summer of 1862, a group of young artists led by the ...

A richly evocative debut novel set in an exclusive summer colony along the east coast during the aftermath of World War II—for fans of Kate Morton and Jamie Ford. "Nothing ever changes at Wauregan.” That mystique is the tradition of the idyllic island colony off the shore of Long Island, the comf...

The American is a novel which tells the story of John Peter Atgeld of Illinois, a latter-day Lincoln, who sacrificed money, health & political power to become the champion of democracy & the foe of greed & corruption.

Here's the story of his farm boyhood, of his Civil War experiences in th...